Be Prepared for an Accident

Here's What We Do Better

Illinois & Florida Car Insurance Requirements

You May wish to consult an attorney after an accident

Proof of Insurance is Required by Both Illinois & Florida

Noone expects to be involved in an accident or to receive a traffic ticket but millions of traffic tickets are issued each year. If you drive a car, it is important to be as prepared as possible.
It is recommended that you keep an emergency kit in your glove box or with you in the car. You should have:

  • a cell phone
  • pen and paper
  • a camera
  • card with information about any medical allergy or medical condition
  • insurance information

Illinois Vehicle Insurance Information
Minimum insurance coverage requirement for the state of Illinois for a personal passenger vehicle is 20/40/15.

  • Bodily Injury Liability limits of $20,000/$40,000
  • Property Damage Liability limits of $15,000, and
  • Uninsured Motorist coverage.

Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury is also required under Illinois law in the amounts of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. Collision coverage is not required by the state of Illinois but may be required if you have a lease or loan on your vehicle. In Illinois certain vehicles are exempt from the liability insurance requirement. This exemption applies to inoperable or stored vehicles and vehicles not intended for use on public highways.
If you receive a ticket for violation of 625 ILCS 5/3-707 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, you have been charged with operating an uninsured vehicle. If you are convicted of this violation, you will be fined $500-$1,000 and your driver’s license will be suspended for 3 months. Upon the end of your license suspension you will be required to pay a license reinstatement fee of $100.
If you are convicted of driving without insurance in Illinois, your license plate will also be suspended. Your license plates will remain suspended until $100 reinstatement fee is paid and proof of insurance is submitted.
If you had insurance coverage at the time of the ticket but you were unable to produce proof of insurance,you cannot be convicted of this statute violation if:

  • you go to court with proof that your vehicle was covered
  • sign an affidavit with your name, address, a statement that the vehicle was covered at the time of the charge, and the name of the insurance company/policy number
  • your appearance takes place no later than one day prior to the court date shown on the ticket.

If you have not been previously convicted of or placed on court supervision for violating the insurance requirement, it is possible for the court to allow for the disposition of court supervision for driving an uninsured vehicle. If you meet the above two conditions and can prove at your court appearance that your vehicle is currently covered even though this was not true at the time of the traffic stop, court supervision along with a fine of $100 may be granted.
Florida Vehicle Insurance Information
If you own a vehicle with a Florida license plate you must be covered in Florida with the required minimum liability. Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law requires the below minimum coverage for incidents in which you are at fault:

  • $10,000 for one person in bodily injury liability
  • $20,000 for two or more people in bodily injury liability
  • $10,000 per crash in property damage liability
  • $30,000 in combined single limits

Florida’s No-Fault Law covers incidents in which no bodily injury occurred and requires these minimum coverages:

  • $10,000 per person/crash in personal injury protection
  • $10,000 per crash in property damage liability

In Florida, if you are not carrying your proof of insurance, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privileges, registration and license plate for up to three years (or until you are able to provide proof of insurance). You will then be required to pay a license reinstatement fee between $150-$500.
To avoid driving privilege suspension in the state of Florida for no insurance, you need to surrender the vehicle’s license plate and registration at any Florida Driver License or Tax Collector office prior to cancelling your policy.
Our firm is committed to providing you the best legal representation available. Email me for a free consultation and case evaluation or call 312-444-9400.